The 1 NT response is often termed the ‘dustbin 1 NT’. It is what you bid with those weak responding hands, six points up to at most nine, that belong nowhere else. You are not saying that you want to play notrumps; that you have a balanced hand.
What you are saying is that you do not have a strong enough hand to bid a new suit at the two level [the best test here is the Rule of 14: whether the number of points in the hand added to the number of cards in the long suit get to 14]. You are also saying that you have no higher-ranking four-card suit – that you can bid at the one-level. And that you do not have any support for partner – three decent cards would suffice to raise them to Two.
Exercise: Which of these hands would respond 1 NT to partner’s 1 ♥ opener? What should the others do differently?
| Hand (i) | Hand (ii) | Hand (iii) | Hand (iv) |
|
♠ J 2 ♥ A J 4 ♦ K 9 4 2 ♣ J 9 8 3 |
♠ 6 3 ♥ Q 6 2 ♦ K J 4 3 2 ♣ 7 6 2 |
♠ 9 6 4 2 ♥ 7 3 ♦ Q 10 2 ♣ A 9 3 2 |
♠ 8 2 ♥ - ♦ A J 9 4 2 ♣ J 9 7 5 4 2 |
Answers: With Hand (i) bid 2 ♣; too strong for 1 NT, you bid the cheaper of four-card suits. With (ii) you should raise 1 ♥ to 2 ♥ – preferable to 1 NT holding ♥ Qxx. With (iii) bid 1 ♠ – 1 NT denies a higher-ranking four-card suit. Only with (iv) – the one unbalanced hand of the four – and how – should you bid 1 NT.
Here are some more examples of unbalanced 1 NT responses... this time partner opened 1 ♠:
| Hand (i) | Hand (ii) | Hand (iii) |
|
♠ 2 ♥ J 9 6 5 3 2 ♦ K 9 4 2 ♣ K 2 |
♠ - ♥ J 6 2 ♦ Q 8 4 3 2 ♣ A 9 7 6 2 |
♠ - ♥ J 9 7 3 ♦ J 2 ♣ A 10 9 6 4 3 2 |
Click to play this deal
|
North Deals None Vul |
|
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
|
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| West | North | East | South |
| 1 ♠ | Pass | 1 NT | |
| Pass | 3 ♠ | Pass | 4 ♣ |
| Pass | 5 ♣ | Pass | Pass |
| Pass |
| 5 ♣ by South |
| Lead: ♦ K |
| Made 5 |
On our 5 ♣ deal – the only making game – West led ♦ K, East encouraging with ♦ 10, then ♦ 3 to ♦ A and East led ♦ 7 hoping to force dummy to trump (and promote his ♣ J).
Declarer trumped in hand (throwing ♠ 2) crossed to ♣ Q and trumped ♠ 3. He crossed to ♣ K (West discarding), trumped ♠ 5, cashed ♣ A (throwing ♥ 2), crossed to ♥ K, cashed ♠ A, trumped ♠ 8 (bringing down East’s ♠ K), crossed to ♥ A and cashed the promoted ♠ Q at trick 13. Game made.