Book a Course

View all the latest courses going on at the bridge club and book yours now...
View Courses View Playing Schedule

What to lead in Partners suit?

Last deal we learnt that making lead-directing bids is hugely beneficial for the subsequent defence. Say partner has bid a suit, and you are (naturally) going to lead it. Which card is correct? Here are the key rules, in decreasing priority order:

(A) Lead the ace if you have it (except at notrumps).
(B) Lead top of two cards.
(C) Lead top of a sequence of two+ touching honours.
(D) Lead low if you like it (holding an honour), high if you hate it.

The underlined card is correct: 83, A42, Q83, Q3, KJ, KJ528432, 9732, AJ52, QJ3, K82, 1082.

North Deals
None Vul
K J 9 3
7 5
A 7 4
A 7 5 3
6 4 2
K 8 2
10 8 5 2
Q 9 4
 
N
W   E
S
 
5
A J 10 4 3
Q J 9
K 10 8 6
 
A Q 10 8 7
Q 9 6
K 6 3
J 2
West North East South
  1 NT 2  3 1
Pass 4  All pass  
  1. Showing five spades and a game-force.

 

What happened
Believing (erroneously) that it was always correct to lead top of partner’s suit, West led  K against South’s 4 . And now there was no defence to defeat the game. A second heart was led to East’s  A, and East switched to  Q. Declarer won  A, drew trumps in three rounds finishing in hand, then cashed the promoted  Q discarding  4, and followed by cashing  K and trumping  6 with dummy’s last trump. Just a club was lost from here - 10 tricks and game made. Even if West had switched to  2 at Trick Two, declarer would have succeeded, winning  A, drawing trumps finishing in dummy, and leading towards  Q, thus promoting the card for a diamond discard.

What should have happened
West should have led  2, not  K (key play). This shows his liking for the suit (lead low for like), but retains  K (in this instance to beat  Q). East wins  A, and returns  J, covered (say) by  Q and  K (or  J will win the trick). With  Q not promoted, declarer must lose a diamond and a club in the fullness of time. Down one.

If you remember one thing...
Do not necessarily lead top of partner’s suit - only do so when you have the ace, a doubleton, or a sequence.

ARBC: 31 Parsons Green Lane, London SW6 4HH
Call NOW: 0207 471 4626